EAST Honors Founder’s Winner, Welcomes New Schools for 2018-2019


EAST Honors Founder’s Winner, Welcomes New Schools for 2018-2019
3/22/2018 3:15:21 PM

The EAST Initiative presented the 2018 Timothy R. Stephenson Founder’s Award last week to Armorel High School, while also welcoming 16 Arkansas schools that will establish EAST classrooms next school year.

The announcements came during the 2018 EAST Conference, an annual gathering of all EAST schools at the Hot Springs Convention Center.


“The Founder’s Award is very special in EAST. Schools self-nominate, which means they invite the level of review and scrutiny necessary to be declared the best,” said Matt Dozier, president and CEO of the EAST Initiative. “Earning it signifies a tremendous amount of hard work. It requires demonstrable achievement in all the core tenants of EAST: using sophisticated technology, collaborating with your community, and demonstrating student growth in both technological proficiency and project sophistication, individually and collectively.


To win the Founder’s Award, schools must submit a broad portfolio of work showing achievement in three specific categories: community collaboration, project sophistication and student growth. In addition to the overall Founder’s winner (who excelled in every area), each category also has its own individual Award of Excellence. The winners of these category awards were:


  • Community and Collaboration: Roberts Elementary School (Little Rock)
  • Project Sophistication and Innovation: Sonora Middle School (Springdale)
  • Student Growth: Kiamichi Technology Centers - Poteau (Poteau, Okla.)


In addition to the presentation of these awards, the gala ceremony also included an introduction of 16 schools that will add a new an EAST classroom in Arkansas in the 2018-2019 school year.


“We are very excited to welcome these new schools to the EAST family. Some are located in districts with existing ties to EAST, while others are laying a brand new foundation,” said Dozier. “Either way, we are extremely thankful for the support of  the Office of Gov. Asa Hutchinson, the Arkansas Legislature and the Arkansas Department of Education for making it possible to add these new programs.”


Those new programs include:

  • Buffalo Island Junior High School (Leachville)
  • Carver Elementary School (Little Rock)
  • Covenant Keepers Charter School (Little Rock)
  • East Poinsett County High School (Lepanto)
  • eStem Junior High School - East Village (Little Rock)
  • Hermitage High School (Hermitage)
  • Jones Elementary School (Springdale)
  • George Ledbetter Intermediate School (Farmington)
  • Lee County High School (Marianna)
  • Linda Childers Knapp Elementary School (Springdale)
  • Sylvan Hills Middle School (Sherwood, Pulaski County Special School District)
  • T.G. Smith Elementary School (Springdale)
  • Walker Elementary School (Springdale)
  • Walnut Ridge High School (Walnut Ridge)
  • Westside Middle School (Jonesboro)
  • Yerger Middle School (Hope)




Welcome, Guest